October 7, 1765

Stamp Act Congress Meets in New York

Delegates from nine colonies meet in New York to discuss unified opposition to the Stamp Act (New Hampshire, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina do not send representatives). They agree to a "Declaration of Rights and Grievances," drafted by John Dickinson, that states the only taxes that Americans are constitutionally obligated to pay are those passed by their provincial assemblies, and not by Parliament.

Browse Content By Theme